h1

Books I failed out of last week

January 11, 2016

Four and Twenty Beds, by Nancy Casteel Vogel.

I kind of wanted someone to read this for me so that I didn’t have to, but eventually I decided I didn’t care that much. It’s from the fifties and it’s about a Californian couple who, with their two children, move to a small town to run a motel. I stopped reading just after they took possession of the motel, figuring that at worst there was going to be an endless series of uncomfortable disasters and at best I was going to continue not finding the book particularly funny.

Good References, by E.J. Rath.

So, like. 1921. Stenographer can’t get a job because she has no references. Ends up taking a job under another girl’s name, as social secretary to a young man who has no interest in society. What could be more fun than that? Well, almost anything, as it turns out. The young man is profoundly unsympathetic, and the friend posing as his valet is worse. Everyone is lying to his aunt, and she ended up being the only person I had any sympathy for. I have very little patience for books about people getting themselves in increasingly worse scrapes by lying, and I got through exactly four chapters before getting fed up.

4 comments

  1. I’m kind of relieved that I’m not the only one to fail out of the motel one.


    • Likewise. :)


  2. Oh no, that’s too bad! I haven’t read either of these, and your disappointment with them does not make me want to, but their general premises sound exactly like something that you would have loved if written differently. Don’t think of it as you failing out of the books, think of it as the books failing you.


    • I guess I always feel like I should be able to power through. After all, I’ve read some pretty terrible books.



Leave a Reply

