h1

Molly Bishop’s Family

February 11, 2016

I enjoyed Ten Dollars Enough so much that I immediately went looking for other story/cookbooks. And I found some stuff, but nothing was as enjoyable.

There’s A Thousand Ways to Please a Husband, which is beautifully illustrated, but doesn’t have enough story. The Mary Frances Cook Book is perhaps even more beautifully illustrated–by Margaret G. Hays–but, as I’ve said before, I have limited patience for inanimate objects that talk. Mary at The Farm was actually too didactic to read, and The Fun of Cooking just…wasn’t fun.

It got me thinking about what makes a book good, especially after I read Catherine Owen’s sequel to Ten Dollars Enough, Molly Bishop’s Family, and found it just as engaging. I use the word “engaging” a lot, I know. It’s because I rarely feel confident about saying that a book is objectively bad, but I generally feel pretty okay about knowing whether or not a book captured my attention. Write what you know, right? I don’t know why Catherine Owen is so enjoyable–a light touch with what ought to be dull material–but I know that I enjoy her. I know that I couldn’t put this book down for other things I also thought I was absorbed in. I know that when a sad thing happens to Molly, I get a little teary.

Molly Bishop’s Family follows Molly through several reversals of fortune and the birth of three children. It’s short on recipes compared to Ten Dollars Enough, but it makes up for it with household management, business advice, furniture purchases, and more child-rearing advice than I ever thought I’d have the patience for. It’s more of a story than the first book, but that makes sense. Ten Dollars Enough takes place over the space of three months, and Molly’s situation is fairly static. Molly Bishop’s Family takes place over the course of about 18 years and it is, more or less, about change. Sometimes it made me nostalgic for its own early chapters.

Also it made me want to eat pigeon pie.

7 comments

  1. I thought the Mary Francis Cookbook was super cute. I had my doubts about the talking kitchen appliances, but the illustrations made up for it.


    • The illustrations were great. At some point I stopped reading and only paid attention to them.


  2. That sounds lovely – thank you for the review.


  3. Another Molly-type book, this one intended for girls, is “Little Margaret’s Kitchen.”

    http://www.gutenberg.org/files/27564/27564-h/27564-h.htm


    • Cool, thanks!


  4. Yesterday, I googled the reading order of the Patty Fairfield series and stumbled upon this treasure trove of a blog.

    Today, I just finished both Molly Bishop books (all my buttons pushed, I adore both domesticity and capability) and I think I’ll try a Widdemer book next.

    Thank you so much for your reviews, they are greatly appreciated!


    • You’re welcome! I’m glad you’re enjoying them. And yeah, domesticity and capability are an A+ combination.



Leave a Reply

