h1

10th Blogiversary

March 4, 2017

So, uh. Ten years is a long time.

I’m not done yet.

(I don’t really have much else to say, but:

  • I finished the third Chautauqua Girls book, Ruth Erskine’s Crosses, so I need to write something about that.
  • I decided today that I did not need to finish listening to the Librivox recording of Seven Keys to Baldpate–a combo of not liking the readers and not liking the book. I’ve moved on to Riddle of the Sands.
  • I’m reading something from 1922 that’s awful, but I don’t want to say anything about it yet because I have a feeling that the scope of its awfulness is about to expand.

Now I am going to go back to watching two simultaneous games of hockey.)

20 comments

  1. Congratulations!

    And not gonna lie, I get a lot of fun out of reading bad books.


    • Thanks!

      Me too, and even more out of reviewing them. Good books are the most fun to read, but bad books are the most fun to write about.


  2. Happy decade, Melody! So glad to hear you’re not done yet.

    Waiting with great interest as to what your 1922 awful reading experience is. (For, like Elaine, I also get a lot of fun out of reading bad books. As long as they are spaced out with good ones!)

    Cheers!


    • Mrs Alex McVeigh Miller and the Elsie Dinsmore books will always be my favorite awfuls, I think….


      • I keep meaning to read something by Mrs. Alex McVeigh Miller–is there one you’d recommend I start with?


        • Oh, god. So many terrible, terrible options. Someone’s always shrieking or swooning , menacing or defying (and the adverbs. My god, the adverbs.). Dainty’s Cruel Rivals (http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/31257) is a good start:

          “Springing to her feet, she found she was not alone, for in the broad glare of the moonlight she saw by her side the tall form of a man gowned in a long black robe girdled with a rosary of beads, while his close-shaven face shone ghastly white under his black skull-cap, and the dull, fixed eyes had the awful stare of death.

          “With a piercing cry, Dainty sprang past the midnight visitant, rushed to the door, and throwing it open, bounded into the corridor, flying with terror-winged feet toward her cousin’s room. Then she pounded on the door, shrieking, piteously:”


          • Oh, no.

            I suspect I’m going to have to be in a certain kind of mood to pick up this one, but I sort of hope that mood arrives soon.


            • I feel like they’re the trashy-novel equivalent of the Elsie Dinsmore books: every chapter is more WTF than the one before.


              • I feel like Elsie Dinsmore gives you breaks, though, and the occasional nice moments make the WTF ones weirder.


                • Good point– I was very fond of Lulu (and would have liked to see more of the narrative from her & her siblings’ POV), for example. I think the Dinsmore books would have been much less awful if Elsie had been allowed to legitimately screw up sometimes. (Nothing would have fixed the father-daughter creepiness, of course.)


    • Thanks!

      I’m sort of waiting with great interest as I read it, because I’m finding it so weird and bad now, and I’m only about a third of the way through.


  3. Congrats, keep on writing about the bad books, but mainly about the good ones :-). Always excited to see a new blog post from you in my inbox.
    Liz


    • Thanks! Good books are, of course, the most fun, but I find that I miss the really terrible ones when I don’t read one for a while.


  4. congratulations, Melody – that’s an accomplishment.

    Just remember – you read them so either 1. we don’t have to, or 2. we can read them and mock them with you.

    Either way, you’re doing good work.


    • Thanks! I think what I’m reading now goes in category #1. So far it’s like a cross between Romance Island and Play the Game!


  5. Love this blog! Congratulations on 10 years!


    • Thank you!


  6. How’s the LibriVox production of Riddle of the Sands? Might be fun to revisit that one on audio!


    • It’s pretty good. The reader is a German woman who speaks very good English, and I think it might’ve been a disaster with a reader who stumbled over the German bits.


  7. Thank you for this blog. I always enjoy reading your reviews,and is great to find other people who read the books I do!



Leave a Reply

