h1

The Rain-Girl

August 6, 2015

So, I should have written about Herbert George Jenkins’ The Rain Girl a couple of weeks ago, when I read it. I looked it up after Tasha gave it a good review on The Project Gutenberg Project because I obviously like Jenkins (actually I haven’t written about him much, have I? Searching my blog, I’m seeing no John Dene, no Malcolm Sage, no Bindle…) but halfway through I started wondering if we were reading the same book. Richard Beresford, the protagonist, isn’t as charming as he or anyone else thinks he is, and his pursuit of a young woman he’s barely met seemed creepy and borderline insane. Like, in that slightly unhinged Eleanor Hallowell Abbot way.

I said that on Twitter–that his attempts to track her down were creepy–and Tasha replied that he has to find the girl somehow, but I disagreed. I would have been pleased for her if he hadn’t found her.

Things change somewhat when the girl, Lola Craven, reappears. Beresford still bugged me, but she seemed to genuinely like him, and the heroine throwing herself at an oblivious hero isn’t something I see too often.

And here’s the thing: by the time the book ended, I was rooting for them. I was even charmed. And I don’t remember why. All I’ve retained is my completely justifiable lack of warmth for the main character.

4 comments

  1. I really liked Patricia Brent, Spinster, and this one looks good too. And speaking of WWI PTSD books, I recently got Keeper of the Bees by Gene Stratton Porter, finally available in ebook, and I’ll be reading that one too.


  2. Lol I still don’t get what you have against Richard. He’s so bland and inoffensive.


    • He’s not, though. He’s a twerp.


  3. There’s a very nice recording of this on Librivox, done by Anna Simon. I enjoyed it –I thought Richard was a bit odd but very sweet and was glad that Lola wasn’t put off by his following her.



Leave a Reply

