h1

Fernley House

May 16, 2008

Book five in the Margaret series is Fernley House. Margaret and Uncle John have just sent Basil and Susan D. home to their father for the summer, and they’re feeling kind of lonely, so they invite a bunch of people to stay: Peggy, her brother Hugh and sister Jean, and Gerald Merryweather and his twin Philip. Also staying in the neighborhood fr the summer is Peggy’s friend Grace Wolfe, who is the paid companion of an invalid who lives nearby.

Grace is probably the best part of this book. As well as still preferring to enter and leave houses via the windows, she’s decided to cure her employer’s ailment by taking everything she says literally — so when the woman says she never wants to see a particular dress again, Grace tears it up, and when she says she doesn’t want to see Grace until the following morning, Grace goes and spends the day at Fernley House.

Grace would be as awesome in this as she was in Peggy except that Hugh falls in love with her. I mean, she falls in love with him too, but in doing so she becomes less individual.

Presumably the same thing will happen to Margaret when she inevitably realizes that she’s in love with Gerald.

2 comments

  1. Oh, I’m so glad I found your blog! The Margaret series is one of my favorites. If you haven’t yet found it, you’ve got to read “The Merryweathers,” which ties together the Margaret and Hildegarde series.

    Elizabeth


  2. I searched for The Merryweathers after I finished Fernley House, because I was really eager to read it, but it wasn’t available online and I couldn’t find a hard copy for less than forty dollars. When I read this comment, I searched again, and it turns out that Project Gutenberg posted it the day after I posted this entry on Fernley House! So, thank you for reminding me.

    Which do you prefer, the Margaret series or the Hildegarde series? And are there any other good Laura E. Richards books I should be looking for?



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

